• Carlos Alan Llanas

Customized ads. You choose!



Recently, there was a significant change in the digital marketing world, which concerns all advertisers and users. In particular, iOS users because Apple released an update adding restrictions on social media platforms, such as Facebook and Instagram, to access user information.

This change means that users now have the freedom to decide whether to share their information or not. These platforms use the information that is shared to send you advertisements of your interest. So, the question is, does it matter if I choose to share my information or not? The answer is yes; it matters a lot, especially when you are an online buyer.

You may perceive Internet ads as annoying, especially when you don't care about the advertised product or service. However, you have probably clicked on ads because they caught your attention. It happens because the platforms use your information to select and show you ads in the categories you have shown some interest in. Perhaps by searching for something similar or by merely consuming content related to that. If you let the apps use your information to share your interest's specialized ads, or if you choose not to share it, it can influence the experience you will have.

Either way, ads will always be there, but if you choose not to share your information, you will receive general ones, which may not be of interest. For example, you may receive dog shampoo information, but you don't even have pets, or you may opt-out to share your interest in receiving ads for the book you were looking for.

This decision that Apple gives you about the type of ad content you will see is new. Soon, more than likely, other operating systems will also provide this option. Likewise, it could also apply to other apps on iOS and not just Facebook and Instagram. The next ones could be TikTok, Twitter, or Snapchat. So, this will probably be a common practice in the future.

The decision is up to you, and it will significantly influence the type of content you will see while using your favorite social media. But remember, you have control of your rights, and you can stop sharing information whenever you want if you don't feel comfortable or don't want to.




Anuncios personalizados. ¡Tú eliges!


Recientemente se realizó un cambio muy importante en el mundo del marketing digital, que concierne a todos los anunciantes, así como a los usuarios. En particular a los usuarios de iOS, ya que, si eres usuario de Apple, de ahora en adelante tienes la libertad de decidir si compartes tu información o no.

Lo anterior porque Apple lanzó una actualización en la que pone restricciones a algunas plataformas de redes sociales, como lo son Facebook e Instagram para acceder a la información de los usuarios.

¿Es importante si elijo compartir, o no, mi información? La verdad es que sí importa y mucho, sobretodo cuando compras en línea.

Podría ser que percibas los anuncios de Internet como molestos e invasivos, sobre todo cuando no te importa lo que se está anunciando. Sin embargo, con seguridad has hecho clic en anuncios porque te ha llamado la atención el producto o servicio que se presenta.

Las plataformas utilizan tu información para seleccionar y mostrarte los anuncios en categorías en las que has mostrado interés, tal vez buscando algo parecido o al consumir contenido relacionado a eso. O bien, con base en los intereses de la información que compartes.

Entonces permitir, o no, que las aplicaciones utilicen tu información para que te compartan anuncios especializados de tu interés, puede influir en la experiencia que tienes en estas aplicaciones.

En cualquiera de los casos los anuncios estarán ahí, pero si eliges no compartir tu información, recibirás categorías más generales que tal vez no sean de tu interés. Por ejemplo, recibir anuncios de shampoo para perros, aunque no tengas mascotas. Por el contrario, si compartes tu información recibirás anuncios del libro que justo estabas buscando.

Esta decisión que Apple te da sobre el tipo de contenido de anuncios que verás es nueva. Probablemente pronto otros sistemas operativos también brindarán esta opción, igualmente, podría aplicarse a otras aplicaciones en iOS, y no solo a Facebook e Instagram, los siguientes podrían ser TikTok, Twitter o Snapchat. Así que probablemente esto sea algo común en un futuro.

La decisión está en ti, e influirá mucho en el tipo de contenido que verás mientras usas tus redes sociales favoritas. Pero recuerda que siempre estás en tu derecho de dejar de compartir información si no te sientes cómodo/a o simplemente no quieres.


12 views
flecha_gris.png